Playing with summary tweets today

Everything that I want to say today about my many and varied pedagogical reasons for asking my students to write 144 character tweets that summarize a work of literature is coming out preachy and pedantic. It has been a long and peculiar day, and frustration with our local public school system and my son’s teacher keeps creeping in there, and no one wants to read that. So never mind the theory, or why I think it is a good idea to combine creativity and skills practice, or any other mumbo jumbo. It’s all hooey anyway.

I ask my students to write tweets summarizing a novel because it is fun.

Playing with words is exciting.

The challenge of getting just the right information into that tiny number of characters is exhilarating.

So why not?

I wrote one, and then challenged my online students to do the same. I used it in a recorded lesson that they can watch, and I am issuing them an emailed extra credit challenge to write one of their own for a piece of literature they have read in their class. I hope they take me up on the challenge.

Here’s my sample, written about The Great Gatsby.

Mysterious, rich, notorious, single. Turns out, she’s just not that into him.  Tom untouched, Daisy unmoved, Nick aghast, Jay dead. Gatsby’s dock light blinks over all.

 

The gauntlet has been thrown down. Here’s hoping they pick it up!

4 thoughts on “Playing with summary tweets today

Leave a Reply

