Helpless

At 1:01 in the morning, my dad texted me that my stepmother was in the hospital again. She did not know where she was, and the hospital was running tons of tests. The same thing happened three weeks ago, and although the tests revealed many things, why she had suddenly become incoherent was not one of them.

This afternoon, Dad texted that she was feeling more like herself, knew where she was, and was coherent. But the hospital still did not know why she had become incoherent for the second time in a matter of weeks.

Also this afternoon, he texted my sister, who is currently across the country, that he had lost his car in the parking garage and two strangers had to help him locate it.

About ten days ago, we learned that Dad, who will turn 80 at the end of May, has been diagnosed with “cognitive impairment.” We don’t exactly know what that means.

I have not seen Dad since before the pandemic. First the virus, and then ongoing part-time work vs. insanely spiraling price points on airline tickets means that we have talked and FaceTimed, but not been in the same place since the end of August 2018.

I miss my Dad. I am afraid I am missing the chance to see the Dad I know.

I live 1,000 miles away. This week, my sister is 3,000 miles away. We don’t know exactly what is happening.

We both feel very helpless.

8 thoughts on “Helpless

  1. Akilah says:

    Oh, I’m so sorry to hear about your dad and your stepmom having health challenges. I relate deeply as my (step)dad was diagnosed with cancer in December and my mom has retinopathy so currently can’t see out of her left eye. They are in Florida, and I am in California. So…yeah.

    I hope you and your sister get a chance to see both of them soon. Thank you so much for writing about this.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so sorry to hear about your struggles, because I can relate to living about 1000 miles from my Alzheimer’s mom. I talk to her multiple times daily to bridge that gap. Thank goodness for modern technology/face time…until you get to see them. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • It truly is. Maybe I have been lucky so far, because we really have not had a huge amount of health scares and problems, and my mom is 79 and my dad will be 80 in May and my step-parents are both in their mid-70s. We knew that it could not last forever, but still…one is never quite ready to see one’s parents decline.

      Like

  3. I’m so sorry to hear about your dad and stepmom. Aging parents is such a hard thing to deal with, especially when you’re so far away. I sure hope you can find a way to see him again soon. Sending you love and hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    • We’re working out the details, but it looks like I will be able to go visit in about a week and a half. We do not have a prognosis for my stepmom yet, but her situation is looking pretty grim, so I need to go home.

      Like

Leave a comment